PDA

View Full Version : Should We Have To Do Homework?

berober04
03-16-2009, 01:52 PM
I'm currently in my final year of High School, going onto college next year, I've had some concrete form of homework each school for 10 years now (eg. Not bringing in elastic bands for a cardboard box guitar) and I've always been understanding of setting homework, never do it but I understand it ;). Anyways, I think there are valid reasons for and against setting homework, but I want the views of people who maybe teach or are now out of education. Should Teachers still set homework?

CELTIC
03-16-2009, 01:59 PM
Yes they should. Homework allows those that do it to revise the things they had learned that day. I hate it but I know it's for my own good. The majority of people that never do there homework are often the one that fail the final exams

berober04
03-16-2009, 02:07 PM
Yes, but if Homework is there to measure your understanding of the lesson, then surely taking up the last 5 minutes to all work individually on a question could have the same effect? My school offers support lessons during free periods and anybody struggling on the question can turn up and work on it there. If the student doesn't do the homework, it doesn't automatically mean they've failed, it might be a slight cause for concern, or there may be a valid excuse.

TPishek
03-16-2009, 02:09 PM
I usually have to do something before I can understand it completely. Most of the professors here don't collect homework, but they do have tests and exams, and in all honesty, doing my homework is pretty much the only way I ever study. Ergo, if I didn't do homework, I would probably be failing right now.
But it is rather a nuisance, isn't it? Much like sleeping. Man I wish I didn't have to sleep; it wastes so much time.... xD

Titan50
03-16-2009, 02:11 PM