PDA

View Full Version : Informative or Crazy? "Yu-Gi-Oh!: Occult Symbolism for Children"

FashionBat
03-13-2010, 12:36 AM
I found this article, and wanted to hear what people who knew more about this series would think of this conspiracy theory-laced analysis that draws parallels between occult secret societies and the occult symbolism in this cheesy kids show.

Check out the article here. (http://vigilantcitizen.com/?p=3300)

Are we all mind slaves to this camp anime's nefarious intentions? ;P

(oh, and this is my first time actually posting... so, hi.)

MrsSallyBakura
03-13-2010, 04:41 PM
Well first of all, you have to remember that this "cheesy kids show" is more mature in nature in the original Japanese version.

Last year I started rewatching the Japanese version and I definitely noticed stuff from the occult. But there were also a lot of other pieces of symbolism from Christianity.

I think the Japanese just like to tie in religious symbols in some of their series. It plays some significance if you're one of those people who pays attention to symbolism in whatever they read/watch, but for those who don't, I doubt that they are becoming 'mind slaves' to the whole concept.

killshot
03-14-2010, 12:55 PM
Sally's right. Symbolism can be found in a lot of Japanese shows. Take Evangelion for example. There were crosses and other Christian symbolism found throughout the show, but even the creator himself said that it didn't mean anything. I think the same can be said about YuGiOh. Adding symbolism to a show can make it seem deeper than it really is. Its best not to take it seriously.

MrsSallyBakura
03-14-2010, 01:40 PM