This city is afraid of me. I have seen its true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout 'Save us!'... and Gon's Balls will whisper 'First... comes... rock!' Hah!  Made you stare at Naruto's Marshmallow!  Pushing the logo off-center to drive TheOcean insane.  

HomeEpisodesStoreForumiTunes Chat

Go Back   Yu-Gi-Oh!: The Abridged Series > Forum Community > Serious Discussions
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-31-2013

Default Research on Abridged genre

Hello, everyone!

This is my first time posting, but I'd like to ask for some serious input from the members here.

I, for one, am a huge fan of abridged series. Therefore, I was thrilled when my professor said that she would allow me to study the "Abridged Genre" for a small school paper (great project, huh?).

Naturally, there is probably going to be absolutely no academic research on the subject yet, but I wanted to gauge the thoughts and feelings of those who partake in and enjoy the genre. If you all could answer a short survey seriously, I would appreciate it.

They don't have to be long answers. One or two sentences is fine. You also don't have to be an expert or anything. For this part of the project, any input is valued. (I might be posting a similar topic on other abridging sites as well.)

Thank you!

1) In your own words, what is "Abridging" and what does it entail?

2) What are some "essesntial" aspects of the abridging genre? What makes an "Abridged Series" a true "Abridged Series"? What do you look for and enjoy when making/watching episodes?

3) Do you think "Abridging" is, in fact, a new genre? If so, what seperates it from other genres? If it is not, why?